It’s understandable if you think that the state of Arizona has a cellphone and/or texting ban while driving for all drivers. With all of the talk on a national level about this issue, many people probably think such a law exists. However, the state of Arizona only has a ban on texting while driving, and it only applies to school bus drivers. School bus drivers are also banned from using their cellphones at all while driving. Granted, this is a great rule — but if we’re going to start drawing the line, shouldn’t that line extend to a few more drivers?
Clearly what we’re saying, as a state, is that texting while driving presents a danger. Thus, we outlaw it. But since it only applies to a select few, it almost feels like no ban applies at all.
Here again, though, we see a wrinkle in Arizona’s laws. Even though there isn’t an explicit rule against texting while driving for non-school bus drivers, there are rules against negligent driving, or driving in a way that is not reasonable or prudent. Drivers who text will find that they fall under these rules, and a police officer could give them a ticket for such an act.
There are also specific texting while driving bans passed by certain cities. Phoenix, Flagstaff and Tucson all ban the act, which results in a $100 fine (which bumps up to $250 if it occurred during an accident).
There could be improvements to these laws in the future, but for now, these are the critical points to remember about cellphone use and driving in the state of Arizona.
Source: Hands Free Info, “Arizona: Cell phone laws, legislation,” Oct. 3, 2014